Secret Sunday

Secret Sunday: Quick makeup removal (including waterproof mascara)

Going to bed with my makeup on is just one of those things that shouldn’t happen, it only occurs about 3 or 4 times a year when I have either been too tired or intoxicated to remove it. For the remaining 361 days (362 when it’s a leap year) I follow the same routine every night. Comprising of 3 cleansing products with 2 combined, this is my fail safe way of removing even the toughest of makeup and making sure that no trace is left behind.

The products that I use to remove my makeup are Johnsons Baby Wipes, Johnsons Baby Oil and Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water. I decanted the baby oil in to a spray bottle as this gives me better product control and stops the bottle from getting greasy which is a small pet peeve of mine.

Method

Get a baby wipe and spray baby oil on to it 1-2 times, remove your makeup in circular motions around the face paying particular attention to the eyes if you have got mascara or eyeliner on. Once no more makeup transfers on to the wipe, then move in with the Micellar water on a cotton pad and repeat the removal process. The Micellar water will pick up every last bit of makeup that the wipe may have missed and also removes any excess grease from the baby oil, finish off my applying a moisturiser.

This method may not work for everyone and I would not recommend this if you have naturally oily skin, but I love this as it removes my makeup quickly and gently as I can find that some specifically designed makeup wipes are too rough on my skin.

Have you got a special trick to removing your makeup? Let me know in the comments below.

Love and (high)light✌

Instagram: @leilanicheeakwai
Snapchat and Twitter: MissLCAK

Leave a Reply

