General

Heat free summer hair top 3

The summer is rehab for my hair, essentially because I can just wash and go. So I have complied a list of my top 3 must haves for the season.

During the winter, my evenings are mostly consumed by blow drying my hair upside down to get the most volume out of it. As you can imagine, a good 5 (4 if I’m lucky) months of this leaves my dyed hair extremely dry. When I was younger, I used to straighten my hair every day – I was obsessed with it but now I am embracing the slight frizz and just rolling with it unless I have a special occasion coming up.

My 3 go-to styles during the summer require no heat and minimal products… this is the list in total:

– Pantene Pro-V Colour protect and volume shampoo and conditioner
– Schwarzkopf Got2B Texturizing Sea salt spray
– Garnier ultimate blends sleek restorer oil
– Dabur Vatika Hair Fall Control Cream
– Batiste heavenly volume dry shampoo
– Macadamia Deep repair masque

Style 1

Moisture is key, too much however and my fine locks go greasy and resemble spaghetti. Thankfully I have found out a way of nourishing my locks without the weight. Firstly before shampooing I take Dabur Vatika Hair Fall Control Cream (I love how this smells) and work it in to my scalp all over then spread Macadamia deep repair masque through my lengths, wait/procrastinate for about 15 minutes and then jump in the shower to shampoo and condition* using Pantene colour protect and volume.

I like to lightly squeeze the excess water from my hair and then wrap it in a towel for about 10 minutes, then once I’ve unwrapped my hair I will use a wide tooth comb to comb my hair and run a small amount of the Garnier ultimate blends sleek restorer oil through my mid-lengths to ends only and leave to dry naturally.

Wide tooth combs are my friend with this style as they keep my natural waves in shape and take out any “spaghetti” whilst making sure that my hair is knot free.

Style 2

For this style, I skip the precondition step from Style 1 and go straight into shampooing and conditioning. Spraying in to damp hair with my head upside down again, I will use Schwarzkopf Got2B texturizing sea salt spray allowing it to go on my scalp and lengths of hair. Then once I’ve flipped my hair, I will then wide tooth comb it to ensure even distribution and may scrunch lightly for added waves.

Style 3

I use this style to maintain Style 1 and 2. The method behind this is skipping a wash, blasting Batiste heavenly volume dry shampoo through my hair with my head upside down, brushing through with a vent brush and then sleeping on it to get the full potential from the volume boost and also remove any tell tale white patches on my dark brown hair. The next morning, my hair is my Oyster and I can either leave it down or go for an updo full of volume.
I definitely think that my hair is in a better condition for this and it is a shame that I am paranoid of catching a cold because I would like to leave it to air dry in the winter.

Let me know what your summer go-to styles are in the comments below!

Love and (high)light✌

Instagram: @leilanicheeakwai
Snapchat and Twitter: MissLCAK

Leave a Reply

