General

Top 5 Sunburn Remedies

You know it’s summer when you spend your lunch break in the sunniest spot you can find and just bask in it for roughly 30 minutes or however long your lunch is. The weekends are then spent as extended periods of this sunbathing to make sure that you truly make the most of this rare event occurring in England.

 

Admittedly, I have only been badly burnt once when I spent a solid 8 hours in the sun at a dog show and I didn’t know that I was burnt until later than evening when the itching started to set in and my skin was sore to touch. Another fact about me is that even after I have burnt, my skin never peels. This is probably a combination of genetics (a long shot) or the fact that moisturiser is my friend.

 

Something terrible I have to confess is that I rarely wear an SPF, in fact the only things that I own that have SPF in them are products such as foundation, etc. This is extremely irresponsible of me, but I always feel like it is such a waste as I don’t spend enough time in the sun to warrant the purchase of a bottle which usually has a shelf life of 6 months once opened.

 

Here are my top 5 ways of soothing my burnt skin and making myself feel more comfortable:

 

  1. Nivea for men post shave balm

I have come to the conclusion that there is nothing that this product can not do, you could probably even cook with it.. ok maybe not cook with it but this is a wonder product, it truly is. I love applying this to the areas that are itchy or sore after a day in the sun. It’s very cooling at room temperature although you could put this in the fridge for an even more cooling affect.

 

  1. Hydration

I have a bottle of water by my side at all times and I cycle them by putting one in the freezer to chill down whilst I drink the other one. It is so important to drink more water during the warmer months, dehydration is serious regardless of age and it can creep up on you so quickly.

 

Another thing that I love to do is just freeze water and crunch on the ice, it makes me so comfortable and I “eat” so much of it normally but it is that extra bit satisfying in the summer.

 

  1. Shower and wash regularly

I usually shower twice a day but depending on your environment you can get sticky really quickly again which isn’t nice. If you’re working, you don’t have the luxury of jumping in the shower whenever you like so to work around this I always extend my hand washing after visiting the loo to my arms, I will wash my hands as normal and then wash/rinse up my arms. This removes the stickiness and restores a level of comfort.

 

  1. Light material and loose layers

So something that I have always heard is that you should generally wear light colours and stick to cotton as it is a breathable material. Personally, I find cotton to be heavy so I enjoy wearing polyester and cotton mixes that are loose fitting. Denim jackets are also surprising cool for me to wear as I recently found out on a hot day and my friend lent me her to wear following a cardigan crisis.

 

  1. Aloe Vera gel or juice

This is something I really like, you can use the gel or juice as a natural remedy for sunburn or any other light burn in general. It has natural cooling properties and antibacterial, you should not use this for a severe burn which should always have medical attention sought for.

 

The purer the gel the better, alternatively you can just take a sample from the plant itself, break off a piece of the leaf and rub it all over the affected area.

 

Hope you can find comfort in these methods, if there are any other suggestions please feel free to mention them in the comments below.

 

Enjoy the sun and remember to stay safe, your skin will thank you in the long run (says the girl who is too stingy to buy sunblock).

Love and (high)light✌

Instagram: @leilanicheeakwai
Snapchat and Twitter: MissLCAK

Leave a Reply

