12 days of Christmas

12 days of Christmas: Day 9 – How to blog from your phone

Day 9 already, 3 posts left and I’m not gonna lie I cannot wait to get back to my normal blogging routine, I have a couple of reviews and some exciting new products I’ve recently gotten to share with you over the coming weeks.
So I’m just going to talk about how I blog and some of the useful apps that I use to help me out. I set up, create and post content and even recently gave my blog a theme and design revamp (how you liking it btw?) solely from my phone.

A bit of background, I currently use a Samsung Galaxy S5 that I’ve had for well over a year now that runs on Marshmallow 6.0.1 (it shipped with Lollipop I believe), I suspect that this is the last OS update it will receive but it still gets security patches and bug fixes so it’s all good. 

Blog management: I use the WordPress app for my main content control, I keep scheduled posts in this app, monitor my stats/comments/followers and use the inbuilt WordPress reader to keep up to date with other bloggers I’m following the posts  of or specific tags. This is a really good app, it does have its bugs such as the occasional disappearing scheduled post which causes a minor panic but apart from that it is very robust and purpose built.

Photos: The Samsung Galaxy S5 boasts a 16mp rear camera that’s good but can take a while focusing on the right subject, the front camera on the other hand is ok for selfies in natural daylight but nothing close up or indoors as the quality is very poor. All my photos are taken using this phone for a majority of the time, occasionally I may use my friends iPhone 5s which considering it’s the same age as my phone has a better camera by miles.

Helpful apps: one of the best apps I use is Google Keep, my boyfriend downloaded it to my phone and I underestimated what a useful app it truly is. Being a Google app on an Android phone, it is fully backed up to your selected Gmail account which is great because you can pick up where you left off from any device. I use this app to initially draft up my posts so that I always have a backup should something happen with the WordPress app. I like to use Tweetdeck for scheduling tweets and also the drafts feature in Instagram so that all I have to do it hit post for it to go live. To keep my white border theme consistent on Instagram I use an app called Instagram Square Size and very occasionally I use an Airbrush app if I’m posting any close up eye makeup photos to remove excess hairs from my eye areas.

If I do have PC access, then I like to draft up a couple of posts from there and email them to myself. A lot of people tell me I should consider investing in a laptop but at the moment the necessity isn’t dire, typing can be a pain and sometimes anything technical I may need to do on my blog but apart from that there really isn’t any need just yet and I think blogging from my phone does give me that extra bit of freedom. I can draft up posts while I’m sat in my lunch break or in bed burning the candle at both ends. Hopefully my ovaries will thank me for not having a whirring hot laptop resting over them 😂

How do you manage your blog, do you prefer to use a laptop or mobile device? Let me know in the comments below ⬇

Love and (high)light✌
Facebook: Macquillage with Leilani

Instagram: @leilanicheeakwai


Snapchat and Twitter: MissLCAK

3 thoughts on “12 days of Christmas: Day 9 – How to blog from your phone

Leave a Reply

