Lifestyle

My tragus piercing experience 2 month update

Good evening lovelies! If you’re reading this in England then Wednesday has probably felt like it’s come around quicker than usual thanks to the clocks springing forward, as much as I like this time of year I hate when the clocks change as you feel like the day runs away from you. Anyway today I wanted to give you all an update on how my tragus piercing is doing as it’s been just over 2 months since I got it pierced, you can read about the initial piercing and where I got it done here so make sure to read that too if you haven’t already.

I got my tragus pierced the day after my birthday, I honestly thought there would be more pain and swelling than I’ve had. So initially I took a photo every day for 2 weeks, and then I realised that it wasn’t doing anything. There was very minimal swelling thankfully..

The day after my piercing

I got pierced with a 10mm labret (1.2 gauge), it’s better to pierce with a longer labret to allow for swelling either from the natural healing process or infection, if the labret is too short and your piercing swells the labret can embed which leads to further complications. For the first 2 weeks there was a little redness and swelling but not as bad as when I had my lobes pierced, towards the end of the 2 weeks I couldn’t wait to go back to the parlour and get my labret changed as due to the length of the bar I kept knocking it which hinders healing.

I was off work the first week of having my piercing so this enabled me to clean it 3 times a day every day, then for the next week I cleaned it once in the morning and once at night. I was told to clean the piercing with mild salty water once a day if I can recall correctly, I personally didn’t want this hassle of preparing salt water so I used EasyPiercing Saline Cleaning Solution sprayed on to a cotton stick. I was fully prepared if something went wrong as I did not follow Ancient Art’s instructions but thankfully it was all fine.

Fast forward 2 weeks and I was back at Ancient Art ready for my new shorter labret. I managed to get attended to by Tammy again who praised my original post and was very impressed with the look of my piercing so she was happy to move forward and change my labret to a 8mm 1.2 gauge with a little bit of bling in the centre.

A little red after the change

I was told whether or not I should continue cleaning this piercing so I kept up cleaning twice a day. It was a few weeks shortly after this that something started to happen… a Keloid started to develop.

I was aware this could happen as it’s a cartilage piercing, so I consulted the internet and also my colleague who recently had her nose pierced developed a small bump that went down and she recommended using salt to clean it continously. So I took a mix of this advice and started applying a salt pack every night to the piercing..

Then due to the shape of the ball I noticed I kept catching the piercing still which started to get quite sore so I bought a really nice internally threaded labret from blue banana, their service was very quick and I was really happy with the labret I received. As the ball is an inverted triangle shape it was more snug to my ear and harder to knock by accident.

It took a while for the bump to go down but thankfully it has reduced a lot and isn’t so unsightly, the plan is to continue with the salt packs and to avoid knocks.

So all in all my experience has been good so far there are a few things I’ve noticed with the piercing that I didn’t read about or see in reviews but I would like to share these in my final post roughly around the 6 months mark when it should have hopefully all healed by then.

Let me know in the comments below what your favourite piercing is or if you would like me to blog about the salt pack method ⬇

Love and (high)light✌

Facebook: Macquillage with Leilani

Instagram: @leilanicheeakwai

Snapchat and Twitter: MissLCAK

2 thoughts on “My tragus piercing experience 2 month update

  1. I’ve always wanted a tragus but my surface area isn’t too great on it! – I developed keloid scars on every single one of my piercings some of them still exist to this day (well I say this out of the 6 I had I only have 2 surviving) but my inner nose still has one, my inner medusa however had vanished with time. Sometimes it’s just how your body naturally reacts to rejecting a foreign object. As it’s on the outer body I’m sure I read you can use tea tree oil to help the keloid go down, you should check places like BMEzine blogs it’s a HUGE bodmod community that has a lot of cool tips on dealing with healing piercings 🙂
    I’m going back years though! I mean my medusa is now about 14 years old. Wow.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh no way I have a tiny keloid on the back of my left second lobe. This was before I knew about the salt packs etc as I was only 15 when I got it done. I’m so happy the bump has gone now tho as I can wear a short barbel now 😊

      Thank you for the recommendation I will check them out as I am thinking about getting my nose done next 🙊 I love your medusa piercing it’s so cool xxx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

