Get the look

Get the look: Glossy straight hair without the damage

I started straightening my hair when I was about 15, growing up my hair was this unruly flow of frizz and waves. Everyday between years 15-18 I straightened my hair almost every day and boy did I get the brunt of it, my hair was porous, broke at the slightest touch and felt like bubble gum when it was wet it was in an awful condition. Since having several major chops and spent time actively investing in my hair both externally and internally I still straighten my hair but only about once a month or if I’m getting ready to go out and am extremely pressed for time. This is my method of straighting my hair whilst not letting it get too damaged.

  1. Wash your hair with a nourishing shampoo and conditioner system, but not one that is too heavy you don’t want to weigh your hair down which will leave it getting greasy quicker once your hair is straight. 
  2. Apply an oil that also contains heat protect through your lengths and then work your way back up to the roots. I really like using Garnier Ultimate Blends Sleek Restorer Oil as it smells amazing and doesn’t leave a greasy residue. 
  3. I normally leave my hair to air dry at this point but if I’m really pushed for time them I will blow dry on the lowest heat setting and do a proper job of it using a round barrel blow dry brush, this will tame your hair that extra bit allowing you less straightening time. 
  4. As my hair isn’t that unruly nowadays I can get away with not focusing on areas repeatedly, I straighten each section once and I don’t even section off my hair this allows me to retain some level of body at my roots. This method does leave me with poker straight hair but not flat. 
  5. I usually run a shine serum through my ends and mid lengths just to get rid of that straightner smell but you could go in with a really light oil for the same effect. 

My hair like this will usually like 2 days and at a push with dry shampoo and an updo – 3 days. When I’m ready to wash my hair I usually wash with a nourishing shampoo and conditioner, then during that week also apply a mask for hydration. 

What’s your hair routine when it comes to heated styling? Let me know in the comments below ⬇️

Love and (high)light✌

Facebook: Macquillage with Leilani

Instagram: @leilanicheeakwai

Snapchat and Twitter: MissLCAK

3 thoughts on “Get the look: Glossy straight hair without the damage

  1. I have recently had my hair cut short, and feel I need to straighten if daily as its too short to put up – so annoying! But like you said, it was the heat that damaged my hair, and I needed a good trim. Can you recommend any good shampoo and conditioner?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your comment, I felt like that too especially if it’s a really deep cut because the ends of your hair flick. I use to let it dry naturally with a salt spray in for a tousled look, this helped me keep the straighteners at bay! I really enjoy using Garnier Ultimate Blends Honey Treasures Shampoo and Conditioner. As promised on the bottle I noticed a remarkable difference in my hair after the first few washes😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s a good idea! Because my hair is naturally wavey anyway, so I could try that. And it’s at the awkward length where it sits in my shoulders and flicks at the ends, so it might disguise that a little.
        Okay. Thanks. The conditioner I am currently using makes my hair very flat and it gets greasy faster now! So I have too wash it more, and I feel that just damages my hair even more.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

